Dating Dilemmas: Should I go on the date?

Hi Senior Dating Agency,

I’ve been using your dating site for a few months now and I must say I thoroughly enjoy it. I like being able to switch on my computer and knowing there will be people on the other end to talk to. However, I’ve gotten so used to just talking to people online, and after being on my own for many years, I’m scared about meeting anyone in person.

Recently, I’ve been talking frequently with a very nice man and he’s asked if I’d like to meet for a coffee. I really would like to meet up with him because we have a lot in common but I’m a bit worried about going on a ‘date’. Can you give me any advise?

Janet

Hi Janet and thanks for getting in touch because this is a common concern. Getting back into dating can be hard especially if you have been away from the dating scene for quite sometime, but you’ve really no need to worry.

In the first instance, you need to address your own confidence issues. What are your reasons for not wanting to go on a date? In most peoples cases it’s the fear of rejection but you can’t let that hold you back forever. There can be an element of hiding behind your computer as you feel safe and in your comfort zone and although online dating is wonderful way to make new friends and find potential partners, the whole point of it is that you eventually log off and meet these new people in ‘real life’.

To begin with I’d advise swapping telephone numbers  and suggesting a phone call. That way you can test the waters (so to speak) and make sure that you can hold a conversation over the phone as well as online. If that goes well then I’d definitely suggest saying yes to that date. What’s the worst that could happen?

Meeting for a coffee is great as it allows you to talk to one another face to face in a very relaxed environment, meaning you can suss out the real life chemistry without there being too much (if any) pressure.

We only have a short life, so don’t waste time by not meeting. I hope this helped you to come to a decision about what to do. Let us know how it goes, and good luck!

The Senior Dating Agency team

Leave a comment